Chronicles of a [Candy] Factory Worker #8: Andddddddd Downtime. 🙄

Before I knew it, Downtime happened.
It seems whoever made the orders schedule underestimated how bad we wanted Probiotics over & done with, and wanted to be on to the next thing. (And it might suck if the next order ends up being Sugar Free…at least for the Cook [deck] person). So now, we get to spend the night cleaning everything twice over…
Or so I thought. We end up starting up prematurely, much to the Lead’s dismay (he has a child-like attitude problem). So at the very least, we set everything up for Day side to continue. And surprise, the next order turned out to be ‘Multivitamins’, for men! Hooray! Now I get to unwillingly get a smell of an ingredient stuck in my throat for the majority of tomorrow night! Besides that, I will be doing drops as well, so more practice on that front. Sucks that the Lead won’t be able to observe my developing skills, though.
Also, does anyone else ever want to say something to someone, but don’t remember until after you leave or clock out? That was me today, and hoping it doesn’t cause any trouble for leaving it out. Because this is a job where you don’t want to leave ANY thing out of mentioning, especially if it slightly refers to our Downtime. I don’t believe it’s a huge problem, but we’ll see tomorrow night, eh?

For the remainder of this post, I figured I could explain how the factory’s lunch & breaks work. Briefly.

So we get two breaks and a lunch, just like every other job. Not much different except for the times we take each. First break happens around 8-9:30p depending on the job. Lunch is generally after the 6-hour mark, which I thought was a thing not to do when you were full-time. Alas even as I type this, I’m currently on my lunch at 1:25a; since there are so many of us to account for, 12-2a is usually good enough to get everyone in & out. (A secret: I was told Lunch might happen later on some days & a second break could be skipped cause of it. Had that happen about three weeks ago, when we were severely short-handed). And last break is generally between 3-5a. Me personally, I prefer closer to five, if at all possible. That way, I’m under two hours away from leaving 😉
We were recently told that if we went over 17 minutes for break, our pay would be docked for the whole fifteen, which is kinda lame. (Though I’ll admit to abusing the breaks all too often… Keep it on the down low 🤐). Lunch, as far as I know, is exempt from the rule. So uh, you know… [don’t] abuse it.

Author: Chris

A collaboration of multiple ideas, packed into a one-liter belly with glasses and an imaginative brain.

Thoughts? Comments?

